Beginning = Love One Another

potter hands

And now I plead with you, lady, not as though I wrote a new commandment to you, but that which we have had from the beginning: that we love one another. This is love, that we walk according to His commandments. This is the commandment, that as you have heard from the beginning, you should walk in it. 2 John 1:5-6

In my walk with our Lord I have found over and over again that every ending means God has developed in me a greater capacity to keep His commandment to love one another as He has loved us.  (John 15:12) This increased capacity to love as He loves creates a new beginning and He opens new doors for me to walk through in order that I may demonstrate His love in fresh new ways.  The hard part of this process is always the ending of a season, especially if that season has been the center of my life. The closing of a door can be confusing if it is something I had come to rely upon or had thought I would be part of forever. It can be painful as closing doors always means I have to let go of something whether its my opinions, habits, status and position, financial, or even people. Often the new door is not clear and I have needed to let the old door close in obedience following the leading of Holy Spirit without knowing exactly where I am going or why.

In this process of beginning, for I am determined to look at each ending situation no matter how painful as an exciting new chapter in my life, I have always been amazed at how ready I am to take on the new role. And, at the same time, how totally unprepared I am to take on the new role. Holy Spirit has made sure I am more like Christ Jesus than I was before. He has reformed my pot so to speak to be sure I am the vessel He needs. Because of that I find I have the capacity to love the new people being placed in my sphere of influence, but I must fully rely on Him and Him alone to navigate the circumstances of every new encounter.  It is uncomfortable for my flesh, fear can arise, and yet as I choose to rely on Holy Spirit it is an adventure that creates renewed passion and zeal for God’s Kingdom purposes.

More than ever, I know that Change is Good! In fact, change is vital in our lives. We must be in continual change toward being like Christ or we wither and become dead and dry in our walk with God. That spiritual withering will affect our natural life. All of life can become bleak when we refuse to accept endings and new beginnings. Our choice to not go through the preparation, to not let the potter change our pot, means our capacity to love as He loves is limited. There is no growth in Him. We become stuck.

This is the crux of what the Lord would have me share today: Stay movable, flexible and spontaneous. Let go of all that is not like Him as He reveals it. Let Him build capacity in you to love as He loves, even if that means there will be great change.  

People are waiting on me to walk though each season of preparation. They are waiting on my endings and my beginnings so that I can be part of their lives and they can be part of mine. They are waiting on His love that will flow through me. This process is vital to building the Kingdom of God. The same is true for YOU and YOUR life!

Be blessed as you yield to the Potter’s hands of change! May he fill your “pot” to overflowing with His love!

Rev. Cheryl

 

It would be a blessing to read your comments

